Friday, August 26, 2016

Book Review: Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Shuffle, Repeat
By Jen Klein 
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Source: Publisher
When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
 
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.
 
Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.
 
Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

It has been far too long since I've read and loved a YA contemporary. Lately, I haven't been into YA and I was scared that it was because I was growing out of the genre. Thankfully, I picked this book up and fell utterly in love with it. 

June thinks that high school is a cliche that won't matter as soon as graduation comes. Oliver, on the other hand, thinks that high school is important in defining who you are and who you will become. So when June and Oliver's mom arrange for Oliver to drive June to school, the two immediately clash and fight over everything and anything, especially their high school experience. But arguing is their thing and soon the two start to look forward to their drives to school together, hoping to prove to one another their beliefs about high school and life. As June and Oliver become friends, though, they both find it hard to truly trust one another and forget all of their thoughts about friendship, high school, and, most of all, love. 

Oh my goodnessssssss, this book. I loved Oliver and June. Loved loved loved them! I think that what made this book so strong was the fact that Oliver and June were both in relationships when they started to hang out, so they just became really good friends with no expectations. I loved their banter and how they fought over music. Their bet was so fun and they really pushed each other to think in new ways. June grew so much in this book and while I was annoyed with how pretentious she was (what senior in high school has a vocabulary that large and extensive?), I liked watching her start to actually get to know the people she had been around her whole life and actually experience high school. 

I am a huge fan of a good friendship in books and both June and Oliver actually had very interesting friends. It was refreshing that Oliver's girlfriend wasn't a total snob, but instead a really nice person who actually became friends with June. Nothing about this book was that cliche and June's gay best friend was the perfect best friend for her. He wasn't her only friend though, and it was fun to see her have a group of friends who commented on her changing view on high school and were there to support her, not judge her, the whole way. 

Overall, I absolutely LOVED Shuffle, Repeat. Oliver and June really take a look at what high school really means and just let themselves live for once. With a super cute romance and a whole cast of lovable characters, you HAVE to pick up this book! 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...