Current Giveaways

None. Check back later!

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Author Interview/Giveaway: Lisa Lim

I am thrilled to announce that today, I have my very first interview/giveaway with the gracious and talented Lisa Lim. Lisa's debut novel, Confessions of a Call Center Gal was just published this year and she is here to share with us a little bit about herself and her new book! 


In only three words, how would you describe Confessions of a Call Center Gal?
Bridget Jones meets The Office (I know, I cheated. It's 5 words. But maybe "Bridget Jones" can count as 1 word and "The Office" can count as 1 word too?)

How did you get the idea of writing about a girl finds a job at a call center?
The story is essentially art imitating life. I’m an ex-call center gal who served time in the trenches for many years. Suffice to say, my head was bursting with stories from the call center purgatory.  

If you could be one character from your book, who would you be and why? 
I’d love to be Truong for a day—Maddy's fabulously gay Vietnamese BFF. He's essentially the lead protagonist’s evil twin. Always dapper and debonair, Truong exudes a sort of Parisian air. I am obsessed with going to Paris one day. I'd stroll around the streets with a baguette in my mouth; I'd ride around in a Vespa with a hot Frenchie named Marcel and spot Gerard Depardieu in a crowd. Whoopsie, I veered off topic there a bit. Back to Truong . . . I admire his confidence, his wit, his candor and his filthy sense of humor. Plus, Truong’s family owns a Japanese restaurant and I lurrrrrrrrve sushi rolls, especially California rolls.  

Why Writing? Have you always loved it or is it something new? 
To quote Moliere ~ "Writing is like prostitution. First you do it for love, and then for a few close friends, and then for the money."
I've always loved to write. And there was no doubt in my mind that I always wanted to become a writer. In college, I majored in journalism and I was technical writer for a software company for several years (boring stuff) before I started at a call center. And now I write to pay the bills. 

 

What are your inspirations when you write? When you get stuck, what do you do?
Music is my inspiration. I try to get out of my comfort zone and listen to music that I’ve avoided in the past. In my case, it’s Mariachi music because I simply don’t enjoy it, but I’ve found that it helps my creative juices flow. Although sometimes it gives me headache. When I get stuck, I snack on chocolate, chips and Cheetos. Then I watch a bit of telly before I plop down in front of the laptop and start banging up my manuscript again.

What do you do when you're not writing? 
I enjoy walking my furry companions but I find it mildly annoying when people ask, “Oh are you walking the dogs or are the dogs walking you?” Me: *Dry laugh*
I also spend a lot of time reading, gardening, shopping and hanging out with (correction—looking after) my munchkins.

 

What is your favorite book/author and why? 
The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons. It is a moving tale of war, love and loss. Simons has an extraordinary ability to make you feel the emotion of the characters, whether it be good or bad. It’s a love story that blows Romeo and Juliet out of the water and it’s an emotional roller coaster that you cannot help but ride.

What's next?
YA chick lit. But I’m hoping it will also appeal to fans of chick lit, hen lit and maybe even lad lit.

Thank you so much, Lisa Lim,  for the interview! If you want to know more about Lisa Lim, check out her blog, Confessions of a Call Center Gal! Now, off to the giveaway! 


***Giveaway*** 

Confessions of A Call Center Gal by Lisa Lim
Summary from Goodreads: A fun chick lit romance that will appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes. Bridget Jones meets The Office. Madison Lee is a fresh college grad, ready to take on the world of print media. But she has zero luck landing a job. Unemployment is at ten percent and on the rise. Desperate and left with no other options, she accepts a position as a service rep at a call center in Pocatello, Idaho. At the Lightning Speed call center in Spudsville, Maddy plunges into the wild and dysfunctional world of customer service where Sales is prided over Service and an eight hour shift is equivalent to eight hours of callers bashing her over the phone. Oh sure, the calls are bad. But Maddy manages to find humor on the phone and off the phone. And with all the salacious drama behind the calls, there is never a dull moment at the Lightning Speed call center.
Lately . . . Maddy has been pining for her smolderingly gorgeous co-worker Mika Harket. Now things are heating up on the phone--and elsewhere. Don't hang up on this novel. Working at a call center has never been this garish . . . or this delightful.  **Review soon to come**

Lisa Lim generously offered 3 ebook copies of her new novel, Confessions of a Call Center Gal! 

To enter: 
-Post a comment on this interview with your email
-You do not need to be a follower, but it would be greatly 
appreciated if you were! 
-3 winners will be randomly chosen and announced on July 6th
-Winners have 48 hours to reply before a new winner is chosen

***For more information on Lisa Lim's debut novel, check out:



8 comments:

  1. This sounds really good, thanks for hosting the giveaway!

    letsevaluate@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just heard about this book and added it to my TBR list this week. ^_^ Thanks for the giveaway opportunity! Here's my email addy: jessasank[at]hotmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm following you on GFC (Darlene), and my email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh man, I can't comment from work, but here I am, albeit a bit late maybe. I am already a PeaceLoveBooks follower, thanks for the great interview and the giveaway, this is fun!

    fred.lebaron[at]gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great interview! Looks like a good read!

    kimbers10[at]yahoo[dot]com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for hosting this giveaway. Sounds like an interesting read. bookgardenreview@live.com
    Isabella

    ReplyDelete
  7. Lovely give away! Donna
    I'm a follower.
    dkmtheriot@yahoo.com

    I am having a give away of Fifty Shades of Grey on my blog. Hope you'll stop by to enter.

    dkmtheriot@yahoo.com

    ReplyDelete
  8. Tweeted for you @MyBookofStories

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...