Thursday, May 14, 2015

Book Review/Giveaway: Off the Page by Jodi Picoult

Off the Page (Between the Lines #2)
By Jodi Picoult
Release Date: May 19, 2015
Source: Publisher
Summary: From #1 New York Times bestselling authors Jodi Picoult and her daughter and co-writer, Samantha van Leer, comes OFF THE PAGE, a tender and appealing romantic YA novel filled with humor, adventure, and magical relationships.

Sixteen-year-old Delilah is finally united with Oliver—a prince literally taken from the pages of a fairy tale. There are, however, complications now that Oliver has been able to enter the real world. To exist in Delilah’s world, Oliver must take the place of a regular boy. Enter Edgar, who agrees to take Oliver’s role in Delilah’s favorite book. In this multilayered universe, the line between what is on the page and what is possible is blurred, but all must be resolved for the characters to live happily ever after. Includes twelve full-color illustrations, and black-and-white decorations throughout.

Full of humor and witty commentary about life, OFF THE PAGE is a stand-alone novel as well as a companion to the authors’ bestseller Between the Lines, and is perfect for readers looking for a fairytale ending. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Meg Cabot are sure to appreciate this novel about love, romance, and relationships.

Review: I am so ashamed to admit it, but I have actually never read a novel by Jodi Picoult. I know, I know. But I was so intrigued by the idea of characters from a book coming to life that I knew I had to read Off the Page when I was offered the chance. 

16-year-old Delilah finally has her prince out of his storybook and into her real world. Everything should be happily ever after now, right? Wrong. While Oliver tries to adjust living as “Edgar” in real life high school, Delilah and Oliver face many obstacles that threaten their entire relationship. 

Going into this one, I had super high expectations. Jodi Picoult has published tons of books and I know people who love her stories. Unfortunately, I didn’t love this one as much as I wanted to. I thought the story was fun and loved the adorable illustrations scattered throughout, but I didn’t really feel a connection with the characters. Granted, I did not read the first book that this one is a companion of, so I don’t know how Delilah and Oliver met and fell in love. However, I thought their relationship was a bit juvenile and their more intimate moments (which are all PG, don't worry) seemed far too mature for how they acted around each other. So instead of being romantic and cute, those moments felt a bit weird and off to me. 

Like I said, I did like the concept and how, now that Oliver was out of the book and living as Edgar, life isn’t as happily ever after as it seemed. It was fun how the book that Oliver came from started to get upset and other characters started to find themselves outside of the pages of the book as well. We also got to see Edgar living as Oliver inside of the book, which was definitely interesting. Living inside a story full of adventure wasn’t as amazing as Edgar thought it would be and he realized how much he actually started to miss the real world. Oliver’s character going to high school reminded me a lot of both Giselle and Prince Edward in the movie Enchanted. After awhile, though, Oliver's lack of knowledge of the real world got a bit old and I couldn’t see why Delilah truly loved him. 

Maybe I would have enjoyed this better if I had read Between the Lines first, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the romance and didn’t connect as much as I wanted to with the characters. However, this book is definitely unique and very quirky, which still makes it a fun read.

One signed copy of Off the Page by Jodi Picoult. US ONLY Ends 5/21

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Nice review! I literally just finished Between the Lines today and have to admit I loved it! I can see it being a bit juvenile as well, but it was a sweet kind of way. Just like with a fairy tale. It's bit cheesy, but still sweet! Looking forward to reading this one! Planning yet another Chicago trip to meet Jodi and her daughter Sam to get a signed copy.

    In truth, it was because I met the two when they came to St. Louis for BtL and I got it signed and thought...I'd really like to have this duology? or whatever as a signed set! LOL! It's not that long of a drive, just a loooooong day overall!

    Anyway, great review! I would highly recommend reading Between the Lines because it was a sweet sort of tale and maybe would have made enjoying this one easier! Again, great review! ;)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...